Books & Awards


The art of walking upright, Steele Roberts, 1999

An explanation of poetry to my father, Steele Roberts, 2001

Playing God, Steele Roberts, 2002

How we fell, Steele Roberts, 2006

North:South, Steele Roberts, 2009

Letters to Young People, OldKing Press, 2020

Ngā Wāhine E Toru / Three Women, Old King Press, 2024

Myths and Legends of the Ancient Pākehā, Old King Press, 2024


Children’s books:

Uncle Glenn and me, Reed, 1999

Uncle Glenn and me too, Reed, 2004

Mr Short, Mr Thin, Mr Bald and Mr Dog, Steele Roberts, 2005

Amazing tales of Aotearoa, Raupo, 2008

The small girl who lives next door, OldKing Press, 2021


Jumping ship, Four Winds Press, 2004

Jumping ship and other essays, SteeleRoberts, 2012

Late love: sometimes doctors need saving as much as their patients, BWB, 2017

Holding the ACEs: adverse childhood events in New Zealand, OldKing Press, 2024

Awards and Residencies:

2000 - Jessie Mackay best first book of poetry award, Montana Book Awards for The art of walking upright.


2003 - Best book of poetry, Montana Book Awards for Playing God.


2003 - Reader’s choice award, Montana Book Awards for Playing God.


2004 - Prize in Modern Letters 


2005 - Distinguished Alumni, Auckland University


2006 - Booksellers NZ Platinum award for Playing God 


2009 - Massey University Writer in Residence


2010 - Booksellers NZ Platinum award for The art of walking upright 


2010 - Fulbright Scholarship to Harvard University 


2011 - NZSA Peter and Diane Beatson Fellowship


2012 - ‘Transit of Venus’ poetry exchange at the Frankfurt Book Fair (see video here)


2014 - Commonwealth Poets United poetry project at the Glasgow Commonwealth Games

Website by   |   © 2023